#0037: People Who Move & Give Away Their Furniture

I have moved to a lot of different cities and places over the years, and it always amazes me how much free furniture I’m able to get whenever I do.

Tables, desk, chairs, televisions – you name it, I’ve been able to acquire it at least once without having to pay for it.

How, you might ask yourself?

A lot of it boils down to knowing where to find people who are hawking their furniture.  And a number of these people are those who are also moving but don’t want to bother with moving all of their big furniture.

For example: I recently acquired a beautiful wooden television entertainment center with space for a HUGE television, as well as shelves for the DVDs and two drawers at the bottom for miscellaneous items.  This huge entertainment center looks like it cost around $1000 dollars brand new, and was STILL in very, very good condition.

So, how did I end up with it? Someone in our apartment complex moved out and didn’t feel like lugging it with them to their next place.  So they left it in the apartment, and the landlord asked me if I wanted it (or else she was going to throw it away).  Yada yada yada, I now have a very nice entertainment center in my apartment!

I can only imagine how many other people out there have a house filled with furniture they didn’t have to pay for.  Heck, my living room alone is entirely furnished with stuff I didn’t have to spend a dime on, which is a GREAT thing if you don’t really have a dime to spend for it in the first place!

Ah, people who move & give away their furniture… now THAT’S something to be thankful for!

Have your own idea for something to be thankful for? Email 1001ThingsToBeThankfulFor@Gmail.com!

This entry was posted in things to be thankful for and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

