#0048: Sites that Let You Shorten url Addresses

I recently released my newest album to iTunes, titled “The Obama Milli Remix Guy Strikes Back!” If you go to the www.iTunes.com website and type in my name, you’ll eventually come across my album.

You will also come across a website link that looks like this: http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/a-p-t-presents-the-obama-milli/id380131773

I’m glad they provide a direct web link to my album should I decide to send it to other people… but what if I’m out in public and want to tell people where to go to find my stuff?  I can’t imagine myself being able to memorize such a complicated link, let alone try to post it on a business card or something!

Luckily, there are now several websites out there one can use to shorten their url link.  These sites, such as www.tinyurl.com or www.bit.ly make it easier to remember these links by taking your loooooong website address and making it smaller.  All you do is take the link, post it into the text box where the site tells you to, and BAM! Next thing you know, you have a smaller link! 

Now, instead of the above long link for my album, I can just tell people to go to www.tinyurl.com/aptstrikesbackitunes! Note: these sites are also good to use when trying to post longer links on your Twitter page, where space is limited to 160 characters.

Ah, sites that let you shorten url addresses… now THAT’S something to be thankful for!

Have your own idea for something to be thankful for? Email 1001ThingsToBeThankfulFor@Gmail.com!

This entry was posted in things to be thankful for and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

