#0050: Extra Money That Comes to You at Just the Right Time

It’s the end of the month, and you know what that means? It’s almost time to pay rent! And I, like many of you, am oftentimes scrambling to find the last few bits of cash needed to keep the landlord happy for another month.

Yesterday, I was coming home from donating plasma (thus adding another $25 to the rent money pot) and pondering how I would get the remaining money I needed.  As I was thinking, I walked up to my apartment, opened the door, and headed over to the mailbox to check the mail.

Lo and behold, I had a $600 check waiting for me in the mailbox. And I started to scream.

Flash back a few months ago: the hit TV game show “Let’s Make a Deal” (hosted by Wayne Brady) had come to town.  I decided to go to the show with my puppet Non Juan, in hopes of winning some money.  Sure enough, I was chosen during the second taping to be a contestant on the show, and decided to take the money instead of the “mystery prize” being offered (which turned out to be a trip to Utah.  Definitely made the right choice).

Although they hand you the prize on the show, you don’t actually get to take the prize home that same day.  In fact, while Wayne Brady handed me $600 in cash that day, some lady came to my seat during the commercial break and asked for the money back.  After the show, they had all the contestants come up to some office and sign a bunch of paper work. Within the contract was a very important line:

“Prize may be sent within 90 days of show airing.”  The show I was on aired on May 12.  That means I had until August 12 for the money to arrive. 

Ugh.

And so, I had to wait. And wait. And wait.  And the months passed: May… June… July…

Up until today, I thought I’d be waiting until August 12.  This would not have been a problem… except for the part about me needing the last bit of my rent money.

So you can imagine just how THANKFUL I was to see that check sitting there.  With 4 days left until rent, the money came just when I needed it. 

And I’m sure I’m not the only one who loves it when money comes through.  Whether it be a college student whose parents send them a little extra something, or that government tax refund comes through just when you need it most, there’s nothing like receiving that extra money you need, right when you need it.

Ah, extra money that comes to you at just the right time… now THAT’S something to be thankful for!

Have your own idea for something to be thankful for? Email 1001ThingsToBeThankfulFor@Gmail.com!

This entry was posted in things to be thankful for and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

