#0075: Going on a Date With Someone Who Doesn’t Answer Their Phone

I have been on too many dates where the following scenario occurs:

I’m on a dinner/movie date with a hottie.  We’re talking, laughing and having a good time.  All of a sudden, I hear a ring or a ding or some kind of sound – and it’s her cell phone.

At this point, I’m already annoyed that she even had her phone on in the first place.  I usually cut mine off or put it to vibrate so I can focus all my attention on the person I’m with, so I get peeved when the girl I’ve taken out hasn’t done the same.

But even if the phone goes off, it’s still not nearly as bad as when the girl actually CHECKS her phone and starts talking to, texting back, or re-tweeting the person on the other end of the phone!

Don’t people have manners anymore?!?  Why the heck would a person even THINK about attending to their phone? In my mind, if I’m taking time out of my busy day to spend 2 hours with someone, the LEAST they could do is spend that same time with me, and not worrying about what’s going on with someone else via the phone! 

Unfortunately, in this day and age of internet phones and cell phones, this is often not possible.  Girls these days seem to have no problem trying to message someone or answer a phone call while in the midst of a date.  I would like to think I’m an entertaining enough person on a date to where they wouldn’t need to revert to a technological device every 5 minutes, but I think it boils down to people being so afraid of being “unplugged” from information that they’ll check up on it at anytime, anyplace, anywhere.

But all hope is not lost.  There are still people out there who understand good dating etiquette, which dictates that pulling a phone out while on a date is a serious “no-no.”  They realize that any phone calls they get can wait, and that they don’t have to return their friend’s message or twitter comment right away.  Those are also the people who tend to be more considerate towards their mate, and are willing to give them the full attention they need at times.

Ah, going on a date with someone who doesn’t answer their phone… now THAT’S something to be thankful for!

This entry was posted in things to be thankful for and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

