#0078: Finding GREAT Items for Cheap at Garage Sales

In November 2005 – six months after I had graduated from Hampton University – I found myself back living at home with my Mom. I love my Mom to death, but as a grown man fresh out of college, being back at home felt like a step backwards…

By January 2006, I was low on funds and had about $15 left to my name.  In the course of looking up jobs in the newspaper one Sunday, I came across an ad in the Classified section of the Richmond Times-Dispatch:

“Cleaning out my house – $5 garage sale.  Everything being sold will be $5 or less.”

Now, I didn’t necessarily NEED anything (other than a job).  However, I have always been a person who looks for alternative ways to get money.  The way I saw it, I could go there, buy some $5 items that were actually worth MORE than the selling price, then go home and sell them on the eBay auction site.

And that’s what I did.  I took $12 and used my Mom’s car to go to the garage sale.  Sure enough, nothing in the lady’s house was above $5… and she had a LOT of good stuff: vacuum cleaners, books, electronic devices… it was practically a GOLD MIND!

Of course, with $12, I couldn’t buy all the stuff I wanted to buy. So, I purchased 3 to 5 things, gave the lady my money, then went home and placed the items on eBay.

Turns out, my plan was PERFECT: most of the stuff I purchased ended up selling for 2 to 3 times more than I paid for it.  Once all the items were sold, I ended up with $36.

Clearly, I was onto something that others had already figured out: garage sales are one of the BEST places to buy items for a bargain price!

Don’t believe me? Over the next 9 months I would go out to garage sales each weekend and buy items to re-sell on eBay.  While not every item I bought was a home run in terms of profit return, I’d say about 70% of my purchases usually resulted in me making more than what I paid for it.  Some of the highlights:

  • The stamp collection I purchased for $15 that sold for $187
  • The diabetes strips I bought for $50 that netted me almost $200
  • The various software purchases I’d make that ended up netting me WAY more money.  Example: I bought a legit version of Quickbooks for about $30 that sold for around $150
  • The set of China I bought for $70 that sold for $175
  • The huge lot of books I bought for $20 that sold for about $90
  • The two Verizon LG phones I bought from a doctor who couldn’t use them because the place her family had moved to couldn’t get reception.  Purchase: $75 TOTAL for both phones.  Selling price: around $140 PER PHONE.

By September 2006, I had made enough money to buy a used car, put aside 2 months rent on a new apartment in Atlanta, and move out of my Mom’s house.  All because I decided to get up a little early each weekend and hit up some garage sales for high-end items at low prices!

Ah, finding great items for cheap at garage sales… now THAT’S something to be thankful for!

This entry was posted in things to be thankful for and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

