#0085: The Kindness of Strangers

Many think that people today aren’t as chummy or kind as they were back in the day.  I find this to be quite the opposite. 

For the most part, people are generally kind when you approach them and, if you’re in a jam, are usually willing to help you out.  Even if you’ve never met the person before, you may find yourself quite surprised at just how far out of their way they will go to assist you.

Perfect example: last week I had to go downtown to the ASCAP building to ask them questions about how to get my music published.  After catching two buses to a spot that was 4 blocks away from their building, I realized that I had forgotten to actually write down the address I was supposed to go to!

After walking around for 10 minutes, I entered into a random office building, hoping there’d be someone there who could tell me where I needed to go. When I opened the door, there were two guys there, both sitting behind desks.  I asked them where I could find the ASCAP building.  Neither of them knew where it was, but one of the guys was willing to look it up on his computer, without me having to ask him to do it! 

Not only did he find the address for me, he gave me directions on how I could get there!  He didn’t have to do any of that – heck, he could have said, “sorry, these computers are for business use only” – but instead he was gracious enough to take 5 minutes out of his day so that I could get to where I needed to go.

Whether it’s something as simple as a person serving food at a soup kitchen, or something more life-changing like adopting an abandoned child, it’s a good thing that most people have a desire within them to help others, even if they don’t always know the people they are helping!

Ah, the kindness of strangers… now THAT’S something to be thankful for!

-Aaron P. Taylor

This entry was posted in things to be thankful for and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

