#0110: Getting a GREAT Meal in Places Known for Crappy Food

I had to make an extended stay at a hospital recently and, while I was happy to be going for the reason I was going for, there was ONE things I wasn’t looking forward to…

THE FOOD.

Why, you ask? Hospitals aren’t exactly known for their “exquisite” cuisine. Most of their food is usually dietary, meaning that, while it’s healthy for you, it doesn’t have much flavor to it, is not usually in a portion big enough to fill you up, and can taste quite bad.

Sure enough, the first couple of meals I had during my stay were just “okay,” but certainly nothing to write home about.  I ate them because I had to, but wasn’t 100% satisfied with what I was being forced to choke down.

You can imagine my complete surprise, then, when I went back to my room one night and opened up my dinner tray… only to find out that the meal they were serving was some of the BEST FOOD I’VE EVER HAD IN MY LIFE!!

Okay, so that may be a bit of an exaggeration – but the food was infinitely better than my previous meals.  Baked tilapia, white rice, steaming hot mixed vegetables, TWO kinds of drinks, a dinner roll, and a cherry pie for dessert… I coulda sworn I had died and gone to hospital food heaven!

And I’m sure I’m not the only one who’s been surprised at getting GREAT food at places with bad food reputations.  If you’ve ever gotten a decent meal while at summer camp, in jail, or at that one relatives house – you know, the one that usually burns water when they try to heat it up – you know EXACTLY how wonderful it feels to actually get food that tastes like… well, FOOD, in these places! 

It may not happen in these places often, though; therefore, when it does, be sure to thank your lucky stars that you got to actually experience the few times they cooked up a great meal!

Ah, getting a GREAT meal in places known for crappy food… now THAT’S something to be thankful for!

– Aaron P. Taylor
1001thingstobethankfulfor@gmail.com

This entry was posted in things to be thankful for and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

