#0125: Plug Adapters

Isn’t it annoying when you buy an electronic item that’s supposed to connect to another item you have, only to find out they can’t connect together because the plugs don’t match up?

I’ve had this happen a few times before.  One time, I got a new monitor for a desktop computer I owned. When I got home and went to plug the monitor into the computer, there was a problem: the “male” end of the monitor plug was too small to fit inside the “female” plug outlet in the computer.  (Yeah, that’s what SHE said!)

I wasn’t going to buy another monitor, and I definitely didn’t have enough money to shell out for another computer, especially since there was nothing wrong with it.  I thought all was hopeless, until I took a trip over to Best Buy and discovered I could buy a simple plug adapter to connect the two items together.

I could now plug the monitor’s “male” end into the side of the adapter that had the “female” entrance I needed, and use the other side – which had the correct plug size for the computer’s monitor entry point – to finally make the monitor turn on!

Plug adapters can be quite the life – and money – saver.  Everything from stereo wires to microphones have plug adapters that can be used to make sure all your items are working with each other despite their initial incompatibility. No sense in re-buying an item for hundreds or thousands of dollars when you can buy a simple item that will connect them for $10-20 bucks!

Ah, plug adapters… now THAT’S something to be thankful for!

– Aaron P. Taylor
1001thingstobethankfulfor@gmail.com

This entry was posted in things to be thankful for and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

