#0132: Getting a Free Trip Ticket for Giving Up Your Plane Seat

Given the rising cost of airline travel these days, its nice to be able to get a free flight every once in a while.  But how does one go about getting free plane tickets, especially if a person isn’t signed up with a frequent-flyer program?

A few years ago, I was catching an early morning flight from Richmond, VA to Atlanta, GA.  As I was sitting there waiting to board the plane, an announcement came over the P.A. system:

“Attention: this flight has been oversold.  If you are willing to give up your seat and board the next flight, please come to the desk now.”

At first, I thought to myself: “NO way.  I really want to get home.  Not that I have anything I need to rush home for, but I don’t want to have to wait in the airport longer than I’ve already had to!”

But then, the announcement continued:

“If you are willing to give up your seat, you will receive a free round-trip ticket, good for flight anywhere in the Continental U.S. at any time.”

Suddenly, I didn’t need to get home as fast as I thought.

Instead, I RAN to the counter as fast as I could, slapped down my ticket, and said: “Here you go – now WHERE’S MY TICKET?!?”

Who knew the airport had such a cool policy?  It’s nice to know I can manage to get a free ticket someplace simply by being a little patient with my time and giving up my seat.  I’ve done this a few times since then, and they always end up coming in handy, especially if I need to make an emergency flight somewhere!

Ah, getting a free trip ticket for giving up your plane seat… now THAT’S something to be thankful for!

– Aaron P. Taylor
1001thingstobethankfulfor@gmail.com

This entry was posted in things to be thankful for and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

