#0164: Having a Voice… Like, an ACTUAL Voice

yellingYou never realize how useful your voice is until you don’t have the ability to use it.

That’s what I’m going through at the moment. This past weekend it rained cats and dogs, and I was stuck outside someplace at 6 A.M. waiting to do a video gig for people that never showed up. I waited outside in front of their establishment’s door for a whole hour while the rain came pouring down.

By the end of the day I was sick; by Saturday I had developed a cough; by Sunday night I noticed my voice was starting to sound a bit raspy; and by Monday morning, I sounded like that lady from the “Stop Smoking” commercial with the robotic voice thingy next to her neck.

It’s on days like this that I realize how wonderful it is to have a voice that works. Y’know, being able to use your vocal cords to project various layers of sound and enunciation, whether it be in a whispered tone or a loud boisterous yell. Oh, and not having your throat hurt every time you try to say something to someone.

By the way, has anyone ever noticed how, when your regular voice goes away, you can still manage to talk perfectly, without a coughing interruption, in your falsetto voice? If I really need someone to hear me I can do it, but I have to end up sounding like Mickey Mouse when I do. It’s kind of cool on one hand – I can hit a bunch of high notes I normally can’t with my regular voice – but I send up sounding like some kind of effeminate man-child when I do.

Ah, having a voice – like, an ACTUAL voice… now THAT’S something to be thankful for!

-Aaron P. Taylor

This entry was posted in Thanksgiving and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

